What is the Only Show if Active feature?
This feature will automatically show or hide various sections based on the availability of data. Often, when you have multiple clients using the same Dashboard, they may have only a few of their Data Sources connected. Without this feature, they would be shown blank widgets on the sections with no data.
With this feature, your Dashboards will automatically hide those Sections for clients for which no Data Source attached.
Let's pretend I have a Social Media dashboard that use with several client and contains the following four sections: Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.
However, some of your clients don’t have Twitter or Instagram connected so when they log in, they will see empty widgets since those sections don’t apply to them. Not a great user experience. With this new feature, we will automatically hide those sections from your clients based on what data source they have assigned to them.
How to assign a section
- Click Dashboard Menu Manage Sections
- Click the menu icon for the Section that you’d like to assign
- Select the Data Source / Channel / Leads (Management) which you would like to assign that section
If you would like sections to hide based on what data sources/channel/ leads management the client has connected, then make sure to enable the Preference setting (Administration Preferences Data Sources tab):
How does "Only Show if Active" work?
The business logic for the permissions is top-down. That is, if Only Show Active Data Sources is enabled, we first check if the section is attached to a data source/channel/leads management.
- If the client has that item connected, then we will show the section.
- If the client does not have that item connected, then we will hide the section, regardless of whether the widgets within the section have the same data source. The use case for this is if a section has some Google Adwords widgets and Google Analytics to show the performance for the Adwords campaigns. In this case, the user would assign the section to the Adwords data source, and if the client does not have Adwords connected, then the whole section will be hidden since Analytics widgets are meaningless without the Adwords reference.
ProTip for Leads Management
If the Client does not have TapLeads and does not have Leads Management enabled, then the section (assigned to Leads) will hide for that client.